kid-art wallpaper

So, as you know, when you have kids, you acquire a lot of kid art.  And a huge amount of it is completely awesome.  And the fact that your child made it makes it even more awesome–even if it’s only, like, a scribble that you’ve been told is “a weasel.”

Last spring, I decided that I was going to turn our house into a kid art gallery and just put those gorgeous things up on our walls.  All of our walls.  Everywhere.  

IMG_2581

And guess what?  With almost every wall covered in kid-art, the house started to feel a little, um,  jumbled.  

At some point it hit me that even when those spaces were clean, they didn’t feel that way.  So I decided to revise.

I took it all down from around the house and smushed it all together in one place: our staircase.  

Here’s the stairway before:

DSC_0074

And here’s the stairway after:

DSC_0080

DSC_0083

DSC_0087

And I know what you might be thinking: That with this design move, I’ve gone from a little bit jumbled to super-crazy jumbled.  And for the stairway, that’s true.  You can’t use the stairs without being surrounded, dwarfed, and — hell — engulfed by kid art.  

But the rest of the house?  Much better.

And I don’t know what Martha Stewart would say, but, for me, the staircase is much better, too.

10 Comments

Filed under crazy personal stuff, house, news!, random, visual art

10 responses to “kid-art wallpaper

  1. Sally Woods

    I think the staircase looks great!

  2. Writergrrl

    I second that thought – think it looks pretty darn fabulous! You’ve given me inspiration…I just need to think of something similar-but-different for our house that is sans stairs. 🙂

  3. That is totally inspired! Love it

  4. Linsey

    I think I recognize a few of those pieces as SJS projects. 🙂 I have some on my wall, too…hanging clothesline style.

  5. I think it looks great! We have art all over too. No staircase, though. Would make great hallway art, though. Gallery walls are sometimes overrated, I think. 🙂

  6. unrelated: I’m going to finish Everyone is Beautiful tonight…and that makes me so sad…cause I’m really enjoying it and don’t want it to end! Very few fiction books can keep my attention these days…

  7. JustinV

    I don’t know what Martha would say, but I think it looks totally awesome! As a matter of fact, I love it so much that I am going to do the same at our house!

  8. it’s STUNNING!
    I LOVE IT!

  9. Jet

    This is a move by a mom who is made of AWESOME.

    Your kids know that you value what they do by what you do. This display is full of LIFE. Beautiful. (Also, excellent that you captured it in photos, as I sure it will evolve and change, and one day, you may say, enough. These photos will be a treasure.)

  10. This is just brilliant! I love this and I too, think the staircase is better than great! =)

Leave a comment